SOME COMMON FALLACIES IN CROQUET LAWS.

 

Return to Main Index

 

 

 

 This page was inspired by an article on the same subject by John Riches in Australian Croquet Gazette, Winter 1994. Since then, there have been many changes to the laws. Some of the old fallacies are no longer heard, but others have taken their place.


1. Many referees think a fault is different from an error
  Actually, a fault is a type of error. An error is defined (in Law 22(a)(1) as any breach of Laws 25 to 28. The misplays listed in Law 28 are called faults. The other types of errors are playing when not entitled, playing a wrong ball and playing with a ball misplaced.
This is not just a matter of words. There are quite a few laws on errors, mainly in Laws 22 to 24. In general, they apply to all errors
There are only a few cases where the laws for faults are different. The main one is that all errors under Laws 25 to 27 are rectified if they are discovered within the limit of claims. Faults are rectified only if the adversary so decides.
There is also a different rule (in Law 22(d)(1)) on how the striker's ball is replaced for a croquet stroke.
 
2. If you pick up one of your balls in the mistaken belief that you have a lift, are you committed to playing that ball?
No. The ball must be replaced, but there is nothing in the laws to say you have to play it.

3. Is it a fault if you hit the hoop with your mallet?
  Not unless a ball is moved or shaken as a result (Law 28(a)(11))

4. Can you claim a roquet on a misplaced ball?
Yes, if you played the stroke in good faith. If you knew or should have known it was misplaced, the roquet could be cancelled under Law 55. If you were forestalled but played on anyway, your stroke is cancelled under Law 32.

5. If you hit your ball during a practice swing, is it a fault? (or have you played your stroke?).
  No. A stroke can occur only if the striker intends to play a stroke. (Law 5(a))

6. The player of blue and black finds that blue is wired from the other balls and claims a wiring lift. Can he get the lift if the black has an easy roquet on red?
  Yes. Under Law 13, each ball is judged separately.

7. Can you claim a lift if your opponent peeled his ball through 1 back or 4 back last turn?
  No. A Law 36 lift is available only if the striker's ball of the preceding turn ran one of those hoops.

8. Is it a fault if you break the peg (or a hoop)?
  No. There is no such law. (By the way, if a peg is broken by an impact, you can assume it was already cracked. It is very hard to break a normal peg.)

9. Can a dead ball score a hoop?
  Yes, if it is peeled through the hoop. Law 14 says nothing about whether a ball is live or dead. Of course if you try to take croquet from a dead ball and send it through a hoop, you are committing an error under Law 27(d); so no point can be scored.